What the Cards Told Me

January 20, 2013
5:03pm

Question: What do I have to do? Is it finally time? Am I ready?

1. Janet (the Querent): Seven of Wands – two forces at odds in balance, something defended, caged
2. Tam Lin (the Desire): Ten of Cups – serenity, harmony, working together, emotional balance
3. Carterhaugh (the Situation): Seven of Pentacles – Fruitful, knowing when to pick and when to leave alone, risk
4. The Rose (the Inciting Incident): X-Wheel of Fortune – Fate, ever cycling, forces at work.
5. The Faery Queen (the Opposition): Three of Swords – Despair, attack, death/dying
6. The Obstacles (the Challenges)
First Obstacle: IV-the Emperor – Stagnation
Second Obstacle: Five of Cups – emotional setback, separation
Third Obstacle: Ten of Pentacles – Dragon
7. The Curse (the Sacrifice): Page of Pentacles – Growth, the light, another dragon (sleeping)

Seven of Cups jumped out at the end.

These are my notes for the reading I did back in January, after coming across an image that caught my attention. That image was, to me, a sign that the time had come for…something. For what, I still don’t know, but I lay the cards to get a better idea of what was to come.

Reading through it again now, I am still skeptical. Seeing a card like the Wheel of Fortune, though, in the Rose position makes me pause. “Fate?” I wonder. “How romantic and wishy can you get?”

I have fought for many years to balance the two halves of my mind and my life: the skeptic and the believer. For years, I’ve debated whether or not this is all in my head and if I’m mad, something the Seven of Cups decided to emphasize when I did my reading here. There are many options to me here, and I can choose to believe what the cards say or to ignore it and pretend it means nothing.

What does it all mean? Fuck if I know, dear reader. To be honest, I’m still debating whether any of this is real or if I’ve somehow tripped down a rabbit hole.

Related Posts

  1. Facing the Tower
  2. Quest
This entry was posted in Divination, Tarot, Thoughts on the Path and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to What the Cards Told Me

  1. livingnexus says:

    In my opinion, a skeptical believer is the best kind of believer. I don’t think there’s anything wrong with taking a critical eye to things spiritual.

    If you did that reading in January and it still isn’t clear whether it was accurate or not, maybe it would be a good idea to look at alternate meanings for the cards beyond just keywords. For example, the Three of Swords can mean feeling depression or suffering an emotional attack, but it could also point to a wounded heart, and wounds we thought had closed long ago but in reality we are still unconsciously picking at. It could mean that your “opposition” is your own thoughts and feelings of resentment and bitterness that haven’t been calmed.

    Working backwards from this, it could explain why you’ve been in a Seven of Wands place in your life, where all you desire is peace (Ten of Cups) but all you get is frustration, because you believe that you are right to be angry with those people or situations that caused you pain, and it keeps you from forgiving and letting go of that pain.

    It could be that the lesson you are meant to learn here Is that you need to reassess how you are living your life (Seven of Pentacles) so that you can reverse the flow of energy (Wheel of Fortune) to overcome your obstacles and finally reach a place of personal growth and success (Page of Pentacles). As you mentioned, the Seven of Cups also suggests that you need to find a way to bring the skeptic and believer in you into harmony with one another, whether they are completely comfortable with the arrangement or not. Rather than focusing on how they conflict, perhaps visualize yourself as someone who lives fully in both realms, and is happy doing so.

    That went on a lot longer than I expected it to, so forgive me if I’m overstepping my bounds. Also: nice choice with the Shadowscapes deck! It’s the deck I use for all my readings, which I chronicle on my blog, and my very first deck as well. Like you, I’m a skeptic believer, and I’m just starting out on my tarot journey. If you like I can point you to the resources I use to inform my understanding of the cads and help me tease meaning out of them. Either way, I wish you the best.

    • Typically when I do readings, most of my interpretations are “intuitive” versus “informed,” though I do have a notebook with guidelines on repetitive meanings of the cards and what the artist intended with the Shadowscapes deck. So the words up there are just notes to myself that I wrote down back when I did the reading; I am still working on translating the cards into a more fully formed reading, which was what I planned on doing with this entry…but decided against it. I do also plan on doing a secondary reading and seeing how well they match up together.

      Thank you for your added interpretation, though. I read through it a couple times in the last few days and I think you point out a few things, and some things I had also noted but hadn’t mentioned (such as the depression angle; I had a paragraph on that but deleted it because I didn’t want to color someone’s perceptions of the cards too much, so I’m glad that we agree on that!).

      • livingnexus says:

        I’m glad I could help. I know I sometimes miss shades of meaning when I settle on an interpretation of a card, and sometimes I don’t put them in context of each other as well as I should. It helps me to get another perspective, so I’m glad I could do that for you.

        My only other advice would be, try not to rely too much on the card’s picture. I know this is like…standard procedure, for most tarot readers, but personally I feel you’re putting yourself at the mercy of the artist’s interpretation of the cards; even with this deck that I love so much, I don’t think that’s very wise.

        What I do is study the traditional card meanings, as well as how the artist and other experienced tarot readers interpret the cards, and then use the picture as a trigger for what I feel that card means to me; essentially building a library in my head and using the tarot as flash cards. I don’t know any way to do this besides doing a whole lot of readings, so that’s what I do. Your mileage may vary.

  2. Aubs Tea says:

    I have always hated those cards linked to fate. They come out at the worst possible time.

Leave a Reply

