Health Entwined

As a freshman in high school, I was required to take a health class for a quarter before moving on to the practical classes. Our first week of class, we opened the textbook and began to read about what it means to be healthy.

In that class, I learned that there are considered five aspects to being healthy: physical, emotional, mental, social, and spiritual.

As of late, I have been severely slacking in every category.

I came to the realization a few days ago but it really hit me yesterday. I had just left my therapy session and was sitting in the parking lot texting with Red for awhile. While waiting for a reply from her, I went through Facebook and saw a post by my cousin regarding something. Remembering his passion for physical fitness and eating right, I messaged him about talking about changing my diet and working on an exercise routine. He approaches it from the best angles, I think, and regularly posts statuses with snippets of information for people who are looking to improve their physical health. (A few years ago, he’d worked as a physical trainer but quit that position because he felt that such information – the information on how to improve one’s body – should be free and he didn’t want to coerce people into paying for the knowledge he had accumulated.)

So, with the therapy and the new, developing changes in my physical routine and diet, I’m covering three of the five spheres I mentioned above: therapy is helping me with my mental and emotional health; exercise with the physical.

But what about the other two?

When I first learned about these different spheres of health, I began keeping a record of how I was doing in each regard. And every time I did, I’d basically ignore the spiritual aspect. “I’m not spiritual”, “My family isn’t Christian,” and similar phrases were my go-tos before proceeding onto the next sphere.

These days, though, things have changed. I’ve become much more spiritual and religious in the last ten years, but I’m still learning much about my beliefs and the like. And I always will, as they will continue to shift and grow as the years pass.

Socially, though, I am stunted. Since moving here to Virginia, I’ve yet to develop a social life. The emergence of my depression and the evolution of my OCD have made me apartment-bound for the last six months, more or less. But I’m hoping to begin turning that around. After the Stanley Cup Finals (since, sadly, the games are on the same day), I’m returning to my writing group on Wednesdays. Tomorrow, though, I will actually be attending an open circle not far for the summer solstice. Even though I am not Wiccan and don’t plan to be, I do look forward to the circle and celebration. It’s been so long since I’ve had any kind of community, even for a day, that I’m excited to see what tomorrow will bring. And, apparently, there is a rather strong community of younger Pagans in the area, so I’m looking forward to meeting people a little closer to my own age, too.

This post is intended to be, for the most part, an update of a kind. On my life, what I’ve been going through; a reference point for future me. And, too, to remind myself and my readers that our spiritual lives need not play second fiddle to the other aspects of our lives. We are, in the end, entwined beings.

This entry was posted in Identity and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Health Entwined

  1. blackberryjuniper says:

    Good luck with all the aspects, Kaye. I’m just like you in that regard – I usually come to a messy state of undone-ness before realizing I have been ignoring all but one of the aspects. I realized yesterday I had given up on exercise and good diet for reasons that seemed sound at the time but are not helping me (good food costs more than crap and its more important I feed my little one and partner well than me so that’s where my priorities and budget have been; and I never get any time alone to exercise – those were the reasons/ excuses). I’d given up on the emotional bit because it felt like I was always depressed/ anxious no matter what I did or tried etc etc. You’re right though: we should keep an eye on them all and try and keep all those balls juggling (to take a bit from one of your previous posts!). Wellness needs them all. Thanks for such a succinct post to get these thoughts out there 🙂

    • Thanks for your comment, Juniper!
      I’m hoping that by taking the initiative and making some general plans (not so specific that I feel bad if I don’t adhere to them but detailed enough that I know what I’m doing) I can basically “reboot” my life. It’s been a long, dark slog but I’m hoping that I can work up to being healthy. I’ve struggled with many of these things much of my life, but honestly with the introduction of therapy to my week-to-week, I’m already starting to feel loads better about many things. Hopefully the rest will follow.
      Good luck to you in your own quest for personal health!

Leave a Reply

