In Whose Hands?

At what point do we leave it up to the gods? At what point do we take matters into our own hands?

On February 6, 2013, I asked my gods for three signs on whether or not I should pursue Kemeticism as my religious path. On May 2, 2013, I received the second of three signs.

Earlier today, I was thinking on my signs. In truth, I have been thinking on them since Thursday. I wonder when the third sign will come, what it will be, what happens if I don’t realize it’s a sign? What if I have already received the three signs and I didn’t realize it? What if, what if, what if.

So I began to wonder if divination was in order. It has been awhile since I’ve done any myself. Weeks if not months since I last took out my cards and laid the spread; a little less time since I pulled out my book and done bibliomancy to determine the answers to my questions. In fact, I still have a reading left to interpret from when I did my last Tarot reading. The answer is there, yet I must still draw up the map on how to get there.

My thoughts ajumble, I posed the question to tumblr, curious to see what others had to say. In truth, I didn’t have much hope on what people might say or if anyone would reply. Funny how the Universe likes proving me wrong.

People were divided on the issue. On the one hand, some believed that waiting was the best choice. I had posed the question to the gods and should wait until they felt fit to give me my third sign. On the other, some argued that sometimes it is necessary to take it into our own hands and prompt our own answers. Sometimes the gods want us to take that step and take our own action versus leaving everything up to them.

In the end, I have decided to wait. I left the decision and the signs up to my deities, I should trust them to give me the signs when they deem fit. Impatience or not, it was my decision to ask them versus decide for myself.

But where do fate and free will work together on our paths? If we trust and believe in the gods, at what point do we say “I must do this for my own self” and turn away from them to pursue our own desires? How can we tell if this is, in fact, exactly what the gods want? How much trust and faith do we put into our gods to make decisions for us?

The answers vary between people. Some prefer to merely work with the gods; others prefer to worship them; still others do a combination of the two. How does it work for you and with your path?

This entry was posted in Thoughts on the Path and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to In Whose Hands?

  1. shezep says:

    I usually take the hard way. So, is it harder for you to sit back and trust? Or is it harder for you to shout and be assertive? If it’s a lesson, which lesson do you think you need to learn more?

    • I’m normally very assertive, take it into my own hands. Sitting back and letting it happen takes a lot more effort for me. I also tend to have major trust issues, so there’s that factoring in, too.

Leave a Reply

