Shielding

Of the three techniques in this sequence, shielding is probably my favorite. I’ve been told by a few folks that I’m a “natural shielder,” whatever that means, so maybe that’s why I enjoy it so much.

Whenever I had to coach someone on shielding, I told them to think of something that makes them feel safe. It could be the house they grew up in, behind a locked gate, within a thorny labyrinth, and many more locations. If a location doesn’t work for them, an item might.

Commonly when I read on shielding, the author instructs the reader to push out their energy into a bubble or egg-shape. Honestly, this irritates me because it’s not flexible. It’s a bubble and I don’t feel safe in a bubble. They’re too easily broken, too permeable, and just not strong enough for me.

When I do my shields, I do a type of armor. It gives me more flexibility and is stronger (to me) than the bubble. I won’t go into details of what I do and how I do it, that’s just asking for trouble. But the core concept here is to think of what makes you feel protected and strong. That’s what is going to best protect you when you deal with things, people, whatever.

Making your shields varies from person to person. It’s typically a visualization technique. I’ve heard of one woman who needed a very strong shield at one point and spent hours sitting down and constructing a tower around her, visualizing each brick as she laid it and spreading the mortar. If you need a very strong shield, something solid and very carefully laid out, like the tower, will work best, I think. You put enough mental focus into it and you should be pretty good.

Depending on what you do, layering shields is a good idea. I typically recommend at least three (it’s a magic number), but if you’re comfortable with just one, then that’s fine.  If you need more, just think of a number that has significance to you and begin constructing your shields  until you reach that number. I typically start with my most immediate shield first, then work outward, but you can do it out and in if that’s what you prefer.

At a workshop a couple of years ago, I learned of another shield that some people do. It’s a construction of a rose bush encircling yourself with the roses taking any attacks, attempts to infiltrate, etc. for you. Supposedly this helps you to learn from what direction your opponent is coming from so you can figure out who it is. That said, I’ve no idea how that’s supposed to work. That part was, infuriatingly, never explained.

In regards to the house example, it works a little differently. Imagine yourself in a home that you know or one that you feel safe in – either one you’ve visited or one that you’ve fantasized about can work. Work from the outer rooms inward. Lock the front and back doors, or any other doors on the perimeter of the house; lock the windows there, too. Working inward, walk through the house, shutting and locking doors behind you. You can add doors so you can move from room to room, slowly locking out anything that might try to enter, until you reach the center of the house or a room you like best.

Shields vary from person to person, or they should. We each have certain things that make us feel safe: a guard dog, a locked door, armor, etc. Don’t just work a bubble shield because that’s all you have read about, because that’s all you know. If you prefer a bubble shield, that’s fine, too. Experiment a bit with different types of shields and different layers of them. And don’t forget to check on them from time to time or redo them. Sometimes we begin to forget about our shields and they dwindle or fail when we need them most. They’re meant to protect us, in the end.

This entry was posted in Tips and Tricks and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Shielding

  1. Starannon says:

    This has been a very interesting post. Thank you for sharing it. While I rarely find it necessary to use any shielding technique (at least, not consciously-perhaps I do it without thinking anymore), I was once taught the effectiveness of using mirror. Rather than just shielding, it also reflects back any unwanted negativity. I found it an interesting concept.

    • Ah, yes! Mirror shields work well for many folks. I can’t believe I forgot that one. Thank you for bringing it up.

      • Starannon says:

        LOL you’re welcome. I was just discussing it last week with a friend who was trying to learn (needing to learn, I should say). So it was fresh in my mind. He’s very new to such workings, and overly confident (read “a bit arrogant”). I thought the mirror idea might be a safer one for him!

        • Mirror shields always seemed harder for me than simple absorbing shields, but that’s my own personal experience/opinion. It’s both passive and active to me, so you have to put more into it. But, again, that’s my own thoughts and your mileage may vary.

          • Starannon says:

            I see your point. And everyone has to do what works for them. Which was my first advice to this gentleman. His idea of “shielding” then seemed to turn to imagery of flames, sharp wire, and thorny things. Considering his lack of experience, judgement, and control, I felt it prudent to guide him toward something that seemed, to me, safer for everyone! Subtle shields didn’t seem to sit well with his ego, if you get my drift.

            • Mayhaps a garden would work well for him, or garden imagery? Not the flower garden, but a garden of thorny plants and with barbed wire or fencing around the edge? In the center he could stand behind a bonfire watching the gate for whomever is trying to get in. Then you have a three-layer shield in one image: the fire, the plants, and the fencing. But it’s up to him what he’d like to do, in the end. Good luck to both of you!

              • Starannon says:

                That’s a good idea, Kaye. I’ll suggest it to him if I get the opportunity. He has a love-hate relationship with his learning experience.

Leave a Reply

