No Title

Perhaps it’s because this line never mentioned who the speaker is talking to, though in-context we know who it is.

Perhaps it’s because it flows so easily over my tongue, my lips, my teeth, like water on glass.

Perhaps it’s because the image it builds within my mind that soothes me, comforts me.

But whenever I see or hear of a deadly tragedy, whenever I face Death, this line lingers over my mind, settling over me like a well-loved blanket of safety and comfort, soothing me even as I shake with fear and desperation, clinging to the need to press forward, move on, survive. Live.

“Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil: for thou art with me; thy rod and thy staff they comfort me.” [x]

It wasn’t until a few years ago that I even knew this line came from the Bible. It had just always been there, mentioned so often in popular culture, in television shows and movies and books; even the Colt from Supernatural has “Non timebo mala,” the Latin translation for “I will fear no evil,” inscribed upon it.

Today, I find these words playing through my mind again as I bow my head and pray to Anubis for those who have left us today in the wake of the events in Boston and Iraq, for guidance in facing my own fears of death and my own guilt for my continued existence in the wake of so much death and destruction, for peace and for serenity to calm my troubled mind.

Stay safe, dear readers. Be well.

This entry was posted in Thoughts on the Path and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

