Odin: Work and Thoughts

A few weeks ago I put out a call for topic requests, ideas for blog posts here that folks were interested in or wanted to learn more, both here and on tumbr. The first one I received was from Satsekhem about my work with Odin, so that’s what I’m planning to write about today.

In truth, there isn’t a whole lot about my work with him, but I can write on my history with him. Yes, there’s a difference.

Thinking back to the first time I heard of Odin, I get a little stumped. I’m not as familiar with the Norse pantheon as I am with the Greco-Roman pantheons, but when I try to recall when I first learned of them, it gets hazy. I know I was aware of him before my freshman year of college, as I was wondering what gods to work with on this crooked Pagan path and I thought of him, among others. I do recall learning more about him in my Medieval Studies course that year. Since the professor was a scholar of folklore and mythology, with special emphasis on the Anglo-Saxons and Norse, I guess that’s no surprise.

At first, I didn’t know if I should pursue a relationship with him. I knew him as a Patron of knowledge and poetry, war and drink, and prophecy, to put it simply. It didn’t seem to fit entirely right with me, so I pushed thoughts of working with him away, though he was never very far from my mind.

Over the next few years, I would think of him from time to time, but never pursued much. It wasn’t until I was abandoned by Anubis and began seeing crows and ravens everywhere, in groups of two and three, that I began to wonder if this wasn’t a sign to work with and find other gods.

And I’ll admit: I had a bit of a soft spot for Gaiman’s portrayal of the American-ized version of Odin (Mr. Wednesday in American Gods), though it was the Icelandic Odin we meet in the epilogue that really affected me. I first read that book the summer of 2008, not long after my initial thoughts of working with him. Honestly, I probably should have taken it as a sign.

Time passed but I never got a very strong vibe from Odin. I think we were both cautiously circling each other, wondering if it was right or not. And then I happened across him at a crossroads. Since then, he’s been back to his usual quiet self. Sometimes I wonder if meeting him was a test and I didn’t pass. I don’t think I failed, either, as I can still get a sense of him around, curious-like in the background. Then again, that event could have just been coincidence, a normal man staring down the road. Then again, it might not have.

I worship Odin quietly, as reflective of my relationship with him. Though I haven’t done it in many weeks – illness and frequent migraines and poor weather have forbidden or canceled many of my plans – my divination experiments are meant to be devotions to him, due to his connection with prophecy. Though these techniques aren’t the runes, I get the feeling he appreciates the efforts and my attempts to gather more knowledge on divination all the same.

This entry was posted in Deities, Relationships with Deities, Thoughts on the Path and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

